Colourful Cabbage & Corn Salad

I can’t believe it has been 2 months since I last updated my blog! So much has happened since my last post; besides life seemingly becoming busier by the day, there have been some new developments which I am very excited to share. A friend of mine from Alabama, USA, has taken the plunge and started his own radio/media company which has been a dream of his for ages. When he approached me to ask if I could make weekly contributions, I was both excited and nervous – excited to be involved in writing articles and sharing recipes and health tips, as both writing and health/nutrition are huge passions of mine (as well as the accompanying photography!) but when I heard that my contributions should also include podcasts (audio recordings) I panicked, literally! Yes I am a teacher, and yes I spend a large part of my day talking to my students but this was different. Talking into a computer knowing that many people would possibly be listening caused my naturally introverted self to go into “stress-mode”. In fact, my first podcast involved me staring at my computer screen for a good 15-20 min working up the courage to just push record! 

A month later, it has become slightly easier. I know that any situation which pushes me completely out of my comfort zone is an awesome opportunity to grow in character and to strengthen my skills. I therefore put my own blog on hold for a few weeks so that I could give this new commitment my all and I must say, it has been a fun experience. To check out my first few articles and podcasts, as well as those from the rest of the Hashtag Media team, click here.

A recipe I shared on Hashtag Media recently is one of my favourites. I originally ate this delicious salad at Mary Ann’s Natural Emporium and Eatery, but have since made my own adaptions. It is light, fresh and tasty and a great way to use up cabbage (which many people struggle to eat). Cabbage has so many health benefits, I’m surprised we don’t include it in our everyday diets! It is high in vitamin C and antioxidants, rich in fibre and sulphur (which produces keratin – essential for hair and skin), has anti-inflammatory properties, helps to detoxify the body, lowers blood pressure, regulates blood sugar and so much more. This unassuming vegetable is definitely worth another look! I hope this recipe encourages you to be more creative with this versatile veggie and that you enjoy this salad as much as I and my family have!

Colourful Cabbage & Corn Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups finely shredded cabbage (white or red, or a combination – chop by hand or in food processor)
  • 2 cups corn off the cob (organic/Non GMO if possible)
  • 1 handful chopped coriander (essential to the salad – don’t leave out, even if you aren’t normally a fan – I think you may change your mind after tasting it in this combo!)
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • ½ cup roughly chopped almonds, lightly toasted/pan fried (can also leave raw)
  • juice of 1 lemon or lime
  • 1 – 2 TBS extra virgin olive oil
  • seasoning salt to taste (I use about 1-2 TBS of Mary Ann’s Garlic and Herb salt, but any herb salt will do)

Method:

  1. Mix ingredients together in a bowl and serve (tip: leave it to stand for a few minutes before serving so that the cabbage can soften and all the flavours can be absorbed)

Leave a Reply

